Staff Selections Kids

Mary

Summer of the Gypsy Moths
Sara Pennypacker

Stella is sent to stay with her great-aunt Louise in her big old house on Cape Cod.  Stella is happy to be in the more stable, welcoming home, and away from her careless mother, but she was not counting on Angel, her aunt’s Portuguese foster child.  She and Angel are at odds until, suddenly, they have a common purpose.  Some readers may question the probability of some of the events, but Stella’s sensitive observations will draw them through harrowing suspense to a satisfying outcome. Fans of Matilda and The Boxcar Children will cheer her on.

Tim

The Year of Billy Miller
Kevin Henkes

This novel from Mr. Henkes, author of Lilly's Purple Plastic Purse and Kitten's First Full Moon, follows Billy Miller through his second grade year.  We learn about his family, his school project and that girl that always bothers him.  An excellent choice for the young reader, A Year of Billy Miller perfectly captures the desires and fears of a seven-year-old.  Laugh-out-loud funny --  Billy's little sister is a scream! -- this charming book should be in every home library.  Highly recommended.

Victoria

A Prince Without a Kingdom: Vango Book Two
Timothaee De Fombelle

From the first to the last page VANGO is an enthralling, page-turning adventure. Just as 19-year-old Vango is to be ordained as a priest in 1934 outside Notre Dame in Paris, police arrive on the scene falsely accusing him of murder. Vango’s hair-raising escape up the side of Notre Dame begins his breathtaking transcontinental journey on foot and by train, boat and Zeppelin to find out about his own mysterious past and why he is being wrongly charged. Pursued by a colorful cast of characters ranging from a French police superintendent to men from the ranks of Stalin and Hitler, Vango’s epic quest will captivate teen readers (and adults who enjoy a fresh tale). In A PRINCE WITHOUT A KINGDOM, the compelling, fast-paced and surprising sequel, Vango unravels mysteries of his past against the somber backdrop of World War II. Not to be missed! You’ll be glad for time spent in Vango’s world.

 

Barb

The One and Only Ivan
Katherine Applegate

 

In this first person narrative, Ivan shares his life in a way that is both funny and touching.

He has lived at the Exit 8 Big Top Mall and Video arcade for so long that he no longer even thinks about his jungle home. His friends include Bob, a stray that skillfully eludes capture at the mall, and an elderly elephant named Stella. He is used to humans staring at him through the glass and though he thinks about TV shows he has seen and his friends, he mostly likes to think about his art-colors, line and how to capture a taste in his paintings. All this changes dramatically when Ruby, a baby elephant joins him and he begins to see his home with new eyes. He makes a promise to Ruby that she will not remain behind this glass. His scheme to make this promise become a reality is both hilarious and triumphant. This is a great read for all ages.